More Protein May Increase Cancer and Aging

As many of us are into fitness I have come to realize why when people go vegetarian or even more so vegan people freak out about protein?

Yet when it comes to research more protein does not seem to equal to more strength or a longer life span.

When I first got a hold of weightlifting magazines all I could see was more protein and more protein. Even articles written that more protein was great for strength gains and strength. That there was no scientific evidence that it could or would cause harm. Yet when I went on a high protein diet, and I mean high, I got chronic heartburn, hives, gained weight and felt really sluggish. Not to say it was not good for my digestive system. In essence I was feeling more sick than healthy.

I want to make it clear that most of those individuals on the supplement ads were taking something else to make their muscles so large and young men were easily fooled into buying more protein supplements. I will state that I do not endorse nor recommend people take protein supplements. Eat enough whole foods and calories to compensate for any muscle damage, drink lots of water, and get plenty of rest. Believe me that your muscles will not wither away if you eat enough calories. But you have to stress the muscle to cause growth; this is the key.

Protein is a package deal, and you must look at protein with all its components and not synthetic isolated forms. Like broccoli is full of protein but it comes with so many other great nutrients that it makes an excellent protein source. I also see in the science that it is the combination of many types of whole foods that makes for the best recovery. Not just eating a lot of peanut butter.

So here is a study on how protein increases the risk for cancer and aging.

“our data provide evidence that protein intake is a key determinant of circulating IGF-1 levels in humans, and suggest that reduced protein intake may become an important component of anticancer and anti-aging dietary interventions.” LINK

This entry was posted in Anti-Cancer, Cancer, Diet, Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Protein May Increase Cancer and Aging

  1. demogirl06 says:

    I like your content. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

